about / fashion / beauty / life

Monday, March 17, 2014

Review: Rimmel Show Off Lip Lacquer


Rimmel Show Off Lip Lacquer in Big Bang

So I was in CVS with my stepsister yesterday and I truly had no intention of buying any makeup except for mascara, but I wandered over to where the Rimmel stand thing was and saw that the Rimmel Apocalips were finally in America. Well, maybe they've been in America for a while and I just wasn't paying attention (which is most likely the case). Anyway, CVS was having a buy one Rimmel product get another for 50% off. Rimmel is cheap in America so I bought this and one of the velvet matte Kate Moss lipsticks. 

First off, I'm so disappointed that the American name for this product isn't Apocalips, but rather Show Off instead. Apocalips is just so damn clever and all the color names are space themed, it makes sense and the name change is stupid. Rimmel you are preventing me from being an intergalactic space babe who's going to save the universe. Despite that the packing is pretty rad, especially from Rimmel because the packaging tends to look cheap more often than not.


The applicator side even looks like some pretty crystal space rock. I am so about that. So A+ packaging Rimmel, you get a gold star. Also non-apologetic chipped nail polish. Life is too fleeting to care about what my nail polish looks like at all times. My chipped nail polish is a metaphor for the decomposition of all life forms as we slowly but surely reach our demise. 


The applicator itself is a doe-foot applicator, but it has a little mini reservoir thing going on towards the tip of the applicator which is great because it gets the perfect amount of product on the applicator. I could get my entire bottom lip coated without having to dip back into the tube.


The color I got was Big Bang (yesssss spaaaaaaaace) which is a very true red with no overt blue tones or orange tones. It's just plain old bright red. But it's an awesome bright red. I actually have no reds like this is my lip product collection because I gravitate towards matte, blue-toned, burgundy shades. I got this swatch with just one swipe so that goes to show that the opacity is great, the pigmentation is fabulous, and when I tried to wipe this off with make-up remover not all of it came off even after wiping it a couple of times. 


And here's what it looks like on! I just slapped it on quickly, so I'm sorry if it's not super perfect. It's whatever, this is real life. Real life isn't perfectly symmetrical lipstick with crisp lines. The formula is not drying, in fact it's quite moisturizing for a liquid lipsti-, my bad lip lacquer (i c ur gimmicky bullshit Rimmel). Before I put this on my lips were actually pretty chapped and it looked like this after I put it on so rock on. It goes on very, very smoothly. More smoothly than my Makeup Forever Aqua Rouge liquid lipstick. As for longevity, you could probably get like 6 hours out of it without eating or drinking anything unwieldy. For $5.99, it's a pretty stellar product. 

Unfortunately, the rest of the colors in the collection don't interest me as much and the line only has eight colors in the CVS I was at. But that's not atypical for most liquid lipstick lines, drugstore or higher end. Other than that and the lame name-change, I'm really pleased with this product! 








Tuesday, March 11, 2014

Outfit: Sailor Saturn Wannabe

I'm currently on spring break from college! So my friend Sam (who took all these lovely photos of me) and I took it upon ourselves to take actually photos again because neither of us have picked up our cameras since the end of senior year. Sam decided to surprise me with the photo locations (an arboretum and a Revolutionary War national site. She gets me) and they all happened to be nature related and I was not dressed for the occasion whatsoever but it doesn't matter because I'm cute as hell.

Jacket: H&M, Dress: Forever 21, Boots: I don't remember
This outfit was very much "shit I'm going to a thing later, might as well throw this on." Part of me thinks this is what a casual outfit that older Sailor Saturn would wear. I've been falling back into the pit of anime this past week and I changed my tumblr icon to Sailor Moon. Sailor Saturn is my goth princess inspiration for life, even though Sailor Jupiter might actually be my favorite Sailor Scout. Sailor Saturn is one of the most terrifying characters in Sailor Moon because she so fricking powerful and her dad was a huge shit and her life sucked and she suffered from seizures and she was reborn again with a cybernetic body maybe??? but she also had the ability to destroy everyone because her powers were based entirely around death and her age constantly fluctuates. Please someone give Hotaru a hug and protect her at all costs.

Sunglasses: Forever 21, Necklaces: NY Renaissance Faire, Lipstick: MAC's Diva
Maybe one day I'll brush my hair??? Whatever, that day is not today.

Bag: Monki purchased off of ASOS, Rings: Spoonman bought at the Saturday Market in Portland
Carrying this new bag around for the first time since I bought it in November reminded me why I don't carry around bags in the first place. Everything gets all tangled, I can't find shit in there, and because I can't find anything I think I lost stuff. But hey at least it's super simple, it's just a sack that folds over on the top. I'm super picky about bags so I'm glad I found one that fit my criteria (all black, not too fancy, no extraneous zippers or pockets). Also,  you're probably not gonna see me with a nice manicure ever because I'm so lazy when it comes to my nails and I always end up painting my nails black anyway. 


Here are two good shots I took that day! The left of my friend Sam and the right is a dude in my friends' band. We went to their show that day too and it was the saddest excuse for a basement show I've ever been to in my entire life because all the other bands were pretty lame. 


At least I got this photo with my friend in a Gumby costume he stole from a dude in some other band.

All right friends, I'm gonna go back to working on a take-home midterm exam and marathoning Attack on Titan. Well, I'm mostly gonna marathon Attack on Titan because I'm a huge weeaboo shit nerd.